IAPWS Helmholtz Award

The IAPWS Helmholtz Award is given yearly to a qualified researcher who, at the time of the nomination, is at most 15 years past the time of receiving his or her last earned degree. There is no need for the nominee to be in any way associated with IAPWS. The purpose of the award is to recognize promising early-to-mid career scientists and engineers who are making significant contributions to, or defining new directions in the areas of research of interest to IAPWS; and to encourage them to become active in IAPWS.

Nominations may be made by any individual except for a member of the Award Committee; self-nominations are not allowed. A committee, consisting of representatives from 5 IAPWS member nations, chooses the winner from among the nominees. The winner recieves a framed certificate and a paid trip to the the annual IAPWS meeting to present the Helmholtz Award lecture.

The past recipients of the IAPWS Helmholtz award are as follows:

Year Helmholtz Award Winner
2000 Dr. Andrzej Anderko, OLI Systems, Inc.
2001 Dr. Nobuyuki Matubayasi, Kyoto University
2003 Prof. Eric Luijten, University of Illinois
2005 Dr. Valeria Molinero, California Institute of Technology
2006 Dr. Hong-Wei Xiang, Chinese Academy of Sciences
2007 Dr. Karsten Meier, Helmut Schmidt University
2008 Dr. Noriyuki Yoshii, Himeji Dokkyo University
2010 Ms. Melonie Myszczyszyn, Canadian Natural Resources Limited
2011 Prof. Hertanto Adidharma, University of Wyoming
2012 Prof. Maxim Fedorov, University of Strathclyde
2013 Prof. Hank Ashbaugh, Tulane University
2014 Dr. Ken Yoshida, University of Tokushima
2015 Dr. Vincent Holten, Cornell University
2016 Dr. Frédéric Caupin, Université Claude Bernard Lyon
2017 Dr. Pavel Gotovtsev, Kurchatov Institute
2018 Dr. Hugues Arcis, University of Guelph
2019 Dr. Václav Vinš, Institute of Thermomechanics, Czech Academy of Sciences
2020 Dr. Tatsuya Ishiyama, University of Toyama
2021 Dr. Robert Hellmann, Helmut Schmidt University
2022 Prof. Amish Patel, University of Pennsylvania

This page updated December 23, 2022