Minutes IAPWS Subcommittee on Seawater Doorwerth, Netherlands, September 7-10, 2009

NOTE: A large fraction of the work of the Subcommittee on Seawater is reported in the TPWS/IRS minutes (see particularly item 13 there). **Bold print** denotes significant actions.

- 1-2. *Welcome, Clerk of Minutes*. The meeting was opened on Tuesday, September 8 at 11:10 by Subcommittee Chair Rainer Feistel. Allan Harvey was appointed Clerk of Minutes.
- 3. Membership. The previous list was reviewed to find names of those who would be official members of the Subcommittee. The following members of existing IAPWS WGs were proposed for membership: A. Anderko, M. Anisimov, J. Cooper, D. Friend, A. Harvey, M. Hiegemann, J. Hruby, B. King, H.-J. Kretzschmar, T. McDougall, K. Miyagawa, M. Nakahara, B. Rukes, S. Seitz, R. Span, P. Spitzer, P. Tremaine, D. Wright. The following additional people were proposed for membership: F. Camoes (U. Lisbon), D. Fuentevilla (U. of Maryland), H. Glade (U. Bremen), G. Marion (Desert Research Institute, Reno, NV), F. Millero (U. of Miami, FL), B. Rathke (U. Bremen).
- 4. *Vice-Chair*. By unanimous agreement, pending his official appointment to the Subcommittee by the EC, **Michael Hiegemann was named as the Vice-Chair**.
- 5. Name. It was decided to retain the name "Subcommittee on Seawater". A suitable acronym will be decided by the Chair and Vice-Chair. After the meeting, the acronym "SCSW" was decided by the Chair and Vice-Chair.
- 6. Task Groups. Task Groups were appointed for a variety of projects, as follows:

Oceanographic Standards (considered to be joint with TPWS): McDougall (Chair), Feistel, Fuentevilla, King, Millero, Wright.

Advisory Note on Industrial Formulation (joint with TPWS and IRS): Cooper (Chair), Feistel, Glade, Hiegemann.

Traceability of Salinity (joint with TPWS and PCAS): Seitz (Chair), Camoes, Feistel, Friend, King, McDougall, Millero, Spitzer, Wolf, Wright.

pH Values (joint with PCAS): Marion (Chair), Camoes, Millero, Nakahara, Spitzer.

Transport Properties (joint with TPWS and IRS): Anderko (Chair), Glade, Harvey, Millero, Nakahara.

Industrial Requirements (for desalination and other processes) (joint with IRS and PCC): Hiegemann (Chair), Bellows, Glade.

The separate meeting of the Subcommittee on Seawater was adjourned shortly after noon on Tuesday September 8.

On September 10, the joint meeting of TPWS and SCSW decided on the appointment of another joint taskgroup

Sea Air (TPWS joint with SCSW): Feistel (Chair), Harvey, Kretzschmar, Wright.